Public Health Undergraduate Recognized at Denman Research Forum

Congratulations to Public Health undergraduate student, Elana Curry who was recognized at the 21st  Annual Denman Undergraduate Research Forum this spring. More than 600 students in all disciplines presented posters on their research and creative activity projects on March 30 at the RPAC.

Research on e-cigarette use among Ohio Appalachian adults who wanted to quit smoking and were enrolled in a tobacco cessation treatment trial won Curry, a public health student in the BSPH, Environmental Public Health degree program, second place in the Social and Behavioral Sciences category.

“This Denman award is a fantastic culmination to my undergraduate research experience," said Curry who is advised by Dr. Mary Ellen Wewers. "After two years of investigation on this topic, I thoroughly enjoyed sharing my research with the Ohio State community.”

Curry conducted an observational secondary analysis among Appalachian adult smokers enrolled in Dr. Wewers’ tobacco dependence treatment trial. She analyzed data collected at baseline, and 3, 6 and 12-month follow-ups and found that e-cigarette users were less likely to be tobacco abstinent after 12 months.  


About The Ohio State University College of Public Health

The Ohio State University College of Public Health is a leader in educating students, creating new knowledge through research, and improving the livelihoods and well-being of people in Ohio and beyond.  The College’s divisions include biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health behavior and health promotion, and health services management and policy.   It is ranked 19th among all colleges of public health in the U.S. by U.S. News and World Report, and also includes the top 10-ranked MHA degree program.  The College provides leadership and expertise for Ohio and the world through its Center for Health Outcomes, Policy and Evaluation Studies (HOPES), Center for Public Health Practice, and the NCI-funded Center of Excellence in Regulatory Tobacco Science (CERTS).