Accreditation Support Services

The Center provides training, facilitation, consultation, and technical assistance to local and state public health agencies who are pursuing accreditation from the Public Health Accreditation Board. These services support, but are not limited to: community health assessment, community health improvement planning, workforce development, quality improvement, and performance management (see our organizational services page for more information about some of these services).  We would love to talk with you about your accreditation-related needs, and how our Center may be able to support you in your work.  Contact us at (Subject: Accreditation Support) or call 614-292-2291.

Templates to Support Accreditation

The Center, in partnership with public health practitioners at the state and local levels, has developed several templates to support overall agency improvement efforts as well as address accreditation-related documentation requirements (v1.5).  Each template includes an associated user guide. Please see the table below for a list of available templates.

Templates Links

 Workforce Development Plan 

Quality Improvement Plan
Competency-based Job Descriptions

(Note: Use of these templates does not guarantee PHAB compliance.)

Questions? Contact us at or 614-292-2291.

Special thanks to the following partners for contributing to the development of these templates:

WFD Plan Development Team: Terry Allen (Cuyahoga County Board of Health); Debora Branham (formerly of Ohio Department of Health); Luz Allende (Ohio Department of Health); Kim Polen, Stephanie Lesco, Ray Romero and Pat Kubel (Lorain County General Health District); Beth Ransopher and Laurie Dietsch (Columbus Public Health); Matt Stefanak (Mahoning County Board of Health); Joanne Pearsol and Melissa Sever (OSU Center for Public Health Practice).

QI Plan Development Team:  Luz Allende (Ohio Department of Health); Greg Arnette (Hancock County Health Department); Chad Brown (Licking County Health Department); Nick Cascarelli (Wayne County Health Department); Stephanie Lesco (Lorain County General Health District); Laurie Dietsch (Columbus Public Health);  Doug Fisher  (Hocking County Health Department); Beverly Huth (Zanesville-Muskingum County Health Department); Joan Kline (Putnam County Health Department); Colleen McKay Wharton (Rutgers School of Public Health);Beth Pierson (formerly of Franklin County Public Health); Beth Schweitzer (Seneca County General Health District); Barb Wilhelm (Findlay City Health Department); Joanne Pearsol and Melissa Sever (facilitators, OSU Center for Public Health Practice).

Job Description Development Team:  Beth Ransopher, Kevin Williams, Tracy Poling, Laurie Dietsch and Kristen Miele (Columbus Public Health); Rosemary Chaudry (retired, Delaware General health District); Angie Breckler, Amy Whitney, and Temi Doremso (Delaware General Health District); Beth Pierson (formerly of Franklin County Public Health); Todd Hansen (Franklin County Public Health); Debora Branham (formerly of Ohio Department of Helath); Cherene Watkins (Ohio Department of Health); Melissa Sever (facilitator, OSU Center for Public Health Practice)

Funding for these projects was partially provided by the National Association of City and County Health Officials through Columbus Public Health (job description template) as well as the former Ohio Public Health Training Center located in the College of Public Health at The Ohio State University; grant number UB6HP20203, from the Health Resources and Services Administration, DHHS, Public Health Training Center Program. Contents are solely the responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official views of HRSA. 



Green Buckeye Certified CEPH CAHME