College announces 2022 Excellence in Teaching, Employee of the Year awards

Professor Laura Pomeroy, staff member Dawnne Wise honored

From left: Laura Pomeroy and Dawnne Wise

From left: Laura Pomeroy and Dawnne Wise

2022 Excellence in Teaching: Laura Pomeroy

Laura Pomeroy, assistant professor of environmental health sciences, was honored with the college’s annual Excellence in Teaching Award, joining 20 former recipients who have demonstrated exemplary performance in the teaching mission of the college and university.

Multiple colleagues and students nominated Pomeroy, an expert in disease ecology, infectious disease modeling and viral evolution, for the above-and-beyond education she provides and for the motivation she instills in her students.

“She balances perfectly both inspiring me to work harder, as well as making sure I give myself breaks when I need them,” wrote Valerie Sweeney, an environmental sciences graduate student and one of Pomeroy’s advisees.

Undergraduate student Morgan McCracken wrote: “She is so excited to teach the material to her class, and it is contagious … She inspires me to do my best in every class I have with her.”

Both Sweeney and McCracken commended Pomeroy for always asking students to connect classroom concepts to the bigger public health picture, and for her role as a continual learner.

“Dr. Pomeroy is always taking on new tasks despite her already busy schedule. She never says no to a challenge, and always gives her all to the assignments that are given to her,” Sweeney wrote.

Pomeroy is also co-director of the university’s undergraduate Honors Program.

2022 Employee of the Year: Dawnne Wise

Dawnne Wise, student and program manager of the college’s Master of Public Health Program for Experienced Professionals, was named the 2022 Employee of the Year.

Wise was honored for the thorough and individualized attention she gives to each student she works with, for her exemplary problem-solving and communication skills with colleagues, and for her commitment to inclusive excellence.

“She treats others from different backgrounds with a lot of respect,” wrote Professor of Epidemiology Amy Ferketich, “I appreciate the welcoming environment she creates for our students.”

Current MPH-PEP student David Danesh echoed Ferketich’s sentiments, describing Wise as “attuned to the needs of all students in the MPH-PEP program who come from many different life experiences.”

Danesh mentioned that Wise also often meets after hours to discuss concerns and help navigate the graduate program.

“Every interaction she has exemplifies her commitment to service for each student. Dr. Wise's excellence in her work benefits the CPH community,” Danesh wrote.

Wise joins 18 past recipients chosen for this honor for their continued dedication to supporting students, faculty, staff and the greater public health community.

“The winners are exemplary colleagues and an inspiration for all of us,” said Jennifer Beard, chair of the college’s Awards Committee and assistant dean for strategic initiatives, noting that a new, more streamlined process for nominating colleagues led to higher participation levels than in recent years. “I really enjoyed reading the nominations and being reminded of how so many people within the college — both nominees and nominators — are passionately contributing to our mission.” 


About The Ohio State University College of Public Health

The Ohio State University College of Public Health is a leader in educating students, creating new knowledge through research, and improving the livelihoods and well-being of people in Ohio and beyond.  The College's divisions include biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health behavior and health promotion, and health services management and policy.   It is ranked 22nd among all colleges of public health in the U.S. by U.S. News and World Report, and also includes the top 8-ranked MHA degree program.  The college’s epidemiology specialty was ranked 19th. The College provides leadership and expertise for Ohio and the world through its Center for Health Outcomes and Policy Evaluation Studies (HOPES) and Center for Public Health Practice (CPHP).