Academic Advising for Graduate Students

Graduate students are assigned a faculty advisor at the beginning of their studies. Each graduate student is assigned a faculty advisor based on: 

  • degree program
  • student’s stage within the program
  • students interestes and/or research program

Students in the master’s degree programs usually need relatively little assistance early in the curriculum, and are more likely to consult the advisor for professional and career-oriented questions. Students are encouraged to discuss professional decisions, academic problems, or any other matters of interest with their advisors. This should not, however, prevent a student from approaching another member of the faculty when that would be helpful. Students in the MS and PhD programs rely more heavily on their advisors from the outset because the curriculum is more individually tailored. The advisor assignment reflects these differences.
(Excerpt from Section 3 of the CPH Graduate Student Handbook)

To reach a faculty advisor, students should search the College of Public Health Directory

The Office of Academic Programs and Student Services (OAPSS) also works closely with graduate students, but primarly with admissions and recruitment functions as well as graduation and career services. The Office also serves as a liaison to other university offices and can assist students with support and guidance.


Office of Academic Programs and Student Services

Contact Us
100 Cunz Hall
1841 Neil Ave.
Columbus, Ohio 43210
614.292.8350
cph@osu.edu

Hours of Operation
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Friday
The office is closed on all official University holidays.

Staff

Jon Bullock
Jon Bullock
Coordinator of Undergraduate Recruitment,
Assistant Coordinator of Graduate Marketing, Admissions, and
Recruitment
bullock.151@osu.edu

Todd Thobe
Todd Thobe
Coordinator of Graduate Marketing, Recruitment, and Admissions
thobe.34@osu.edu

 


Kynthia Droesch, MSEd
Director
Office of Academic Programs
and Student Services
droesch.4@osu.edu


Dawn Williams, MEd
Assistant Director
Office of Academic Programs
and Student Services
Coordinator of Practice Education
and Career Services
williams.3388@osu.edu

 


Lisa Mayhugh, MA
Career Services and
Recruitment Coordinator, HSMP
mayhugh.16@osu.edu


Kristy Arter
Office Associate
arter.5@osu.edu

Green Buckeye Certified CEPH CAHME