Academic Advising for Graduate Students

Graduate students are assigned a faculty advisor at the beginning of their studies. Each graduate student is assigned a faculty advisor based on: 

  • degree program
  • student’s stage within the program
  • students interestes and/or research program

Students in the master’s degree programs usually need relatively little assistance early in the curriculum, and are more likely to consult the advisor for professional and career-oriented questions. Students are encouraged to discuss professional decisions, academic problems, or any other matters of interest with their advisors. This should not, however, prevent a student from approaching another member of the faculty when that would be helpful. Students in the MS and PhD programs rely more heavily on their advisors from the outset because the curriculum is more individually tailored. The advisor assignment reflects these differences. (Excerpt from Section 3 of the CPH Graduate Student Handbook)


Kynthia Droesch, MSEd
Director
Office of Academic Programs
and Student Services
droesch.4@osu.edu
Dawn Williams, MEd
Assistant Director
Office of Academic Programs
and Student Services
Coordinator of Practice Education
and Career Services
williams.3388@osu.edu

Rachel Foltz, MA
Coordinator of Graduate Admissions
and Recruitment
foltz.95@osu.edu
Jon Bullock, MEd
Coordinator of Undergraduate Recruitment,
Assistant Coordinator of Graduate Marketing,
Admissions, and Recruitment
bullock.151@osu.edu
Lisa Mayhugh, MA
Career Services and
Recruitment Coordinator, HSMP
mayhugh.16@osu.edu
Kristy Arter
Office Associate
arter.5@osu.edu


Contact Us

100 Cunz Hall
1841 Neil Ave.
Columbus, Ohio 43210
614.292.8350

Hours of Operation
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Friday
The office is closed on all official University holidays  

Green Buckeye Certified CEPH CAHME